It’s holiday time! We just passed Thanksgiving here in the states. I love Thanksgiving because you don’t have all of the hullabaloo of buying presents, etc.
I love Christmas, too. Don’t get me wrong. And especially now that I make most of our presents. But I still just have this special affinity for Thanksgiving.
But anyway, this post is about the holiday time in general. And vegan eggnog to be precise. One of the big holiday things that my husband introduced me to is eggnog.
My family never really did the eggnog thing. At least, I don’t remember eggnog around.
So when my husband really wanted to get eggnog at holiday time, I was dubious. How can you drink raw eggs and be ok? How can you drink raw eggs and not gag? I mean, ewwwwwwww.
Then I had some. You know, opening my horizons for the man in my life thing.
Ummmmmm, that is some good stuff. Nobody told me about the insane amount of sugar and cream in it that goes along with the eggs.
Then every year after that, hubby and I would go crazy for the eggnog. I mean C. R. A. Z. Y. And heaven forbid the store ran out before the end of the holiday season. Which Trader Joe’s always does.
Dudes! Get with it TJs! Buy more eggnog.
And when I found out I couldn’t have eggs anymore, it was over the summer. So it never occurred to me until recently that I wouldn’t be able to have eggnog.
So what’s a person to do except come up with something that tastes like eggnog without the eggs. Or dairy. Easy, peasy, right?
Yeah, not really.
I started looking up vegan eggnog, and I got all of these wonderful, healthy, sometimes-raw recipes with lots of homemade nut-milk, date paste for sugar, etc. Most of them used cashews, which are out for us. So I tried other nuts with all of the healthy stuff.
Um, yeah… no.
They were good in their own right. In fact, I think some of them might make great coffee creamers. I think that because I ended up using the ones I made as coffee creamers. Pretty darn good.
But eggnog, they weren’t.
All of them were just too thin. And too gritty. Because of the ground up nuts, there was always grit. So then I filtered them with my nut milk bag, which worked nicely. But then I was doing way too much work for this vegan eggnog. WAY too much work.
Then I decided to google eggless eggnog instead of vegan eggnog. When I did that, I got lots of recipes that used regular cow’s milk, which I didn’t want to use. But they also used vanilla instant pudding.
So why didn’t I see vanilla instant pudding used when I googled vegan eggnog? Is vanilla instant pudding not vegan? I looked at the ingredients, and it looked vegan to me.
Then I googled “is vanilla instant pudding vegan?”
Well, lots of people said yes. No one said no. Even PETA said it is vegan.
Cool! So I wasn’t missing anything. Everyone else was just being uber healthy.
I don’t know about you, but my thought is that I am only doing this for a short time once a year. And eggnog is an indulgence anyway. So let’s go crazy. Right?!
Below you have the recipe I came up with for vegan eggnog that tastes as close to eggnog as you can get without eggs, cow’s milk and cream. I’ve only had it 3 or 4 times so far. It still isn’t calorie free, so I need to curb myself.
So without further ado, here’s…
How to Make Vegan Eggnog
More Beverage RecipesPrint Print